Sign In

What are the regulations for obtaining a first time driver's license?

​A. Louisiana law requires persons who are residents of this state to be properly licensed to drive motor vehicles upon the highways of Louisiana. 

In order to apply for a Louisiana license, the applicant must:
  • Proof of Residency
  • have proof of legal presence in the country,
  • have completed the appropriate driver education course for their age,
The 38 hour driver education course consists of 30 hour classroom instruction and 8 hours behind the wheel instruction.
The pre-licensing course consists of 6 hour classroom instruction and 8 hours behind the wheel instruction.
  • meet minimum physical and mental requirements and pass a vision, knowledge and road skills test.
  • The road skills test may be administered by OMV or a certified third party provider. There is a charge for certified third party tester to administer the test. The cost may be up to $40.00. If you do not own a vehicle, a third party tester may rent a vehicle to you at an additional cost to take the road skills test. Third party testers can administer the test in inclement weather and at your convenience. Third Party Tester list. 

In order for the OMV to administer the skills test, you must present a vehicle with a current safety inspection sticker, current license plate validation sticker, current certificate of registration and proof of current liability insurance, and proof of residency. Please check the Office Location section of our web site to determine if your local office has specific road skills test hours. Skills test are NOT given by OMV during inclement weather.

FIRST TIME CLASS E LICENSE AGE 17
To be issued a Louisiana driver’s license issued you are required to furnish the following:Home schooled students must present the Home Study Approval Notification Letter or the Registered Non public School: Registration Confirmation 
letter from the Louisiana Department of Education.
  • Your parent or legal guardian with picture I.D. In case of joint custody, only domiciliary parent may sign.
  • You must take and pass the vision, knowledge and road skills test.
    You have the option of going to a state certified Third Party Tester to be administered a road skills test. They can charge up to $40.00 for the road skills test. Third Party Tester List. You must report to the Third Party Tester with Test History Form or a valid learner's permit issued by the Office of Motor Vehicles. A Third Party Tester can lease a vehicle to you to take the road skills test. They also can administer the test in inclement weather and at your convenience, usually anytime of the day.
  • If you provide your own vehicle, proof of insurance is required and it must have a current safety inspection sticker, proof of residency, current license plate validation sticker, and current certificate of registration.
  • Fee: $32.25 (a local fee may apply which will not exceed $6)

Acceptable methods of payment are as follows: 

Credit cards, debit cards, money orders. A transaction fee will be assessed for payments made with a credit/debit card as indicated below:​
Credit/Debit - $1.25 plus 1% of transaction total

NOTE: Please allow sufficient time to complete all testing prior to the office closure. The road skills tests are NOT administered during inclement weather.


FIRST TIME CLASS E LICENSE AGE 18 OR OLDER
To be issued a Louisiana driver’s license you are required to furnish the following:
Acceptable methods of payment are as follows: 

Credit cards, debit cards, money orders. A transaction fee will be assessed for payments made with a credit/debit card as indicated below:
Credit/Debit - $1.25 plus 1% of transaction total

NOTE: Please allow sufficient time to complete all testing prior to the office closure. The road skills tests are NOT administered during inclement weather.

The 38 hour driver education course consists of 30 hour classroom instruction and 8 hours behind the wheel instruction.
The pre-licensing course consists of 6 hour classroom instruction and 8 hours behind the wheel instruction.