Suspensions

Written Promise Affidavit, In Lieu, and Out-of-State Affidavits

If you have a suspended license due to an unpaid traffic ticket or failing to appear on your court date, you will need to provide one of the following proofs of compliance by fax, by mail or by the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page:

  • Compliance (must include the ticket number)
  • Paid Receipt
  • Final Disposition of the Affidavit
  • Continuance (new court date)

Fees
Louisiana Court = $100.00
In Lieu = $60.00
Out-of-State Court = $60.00
Shreveport City Court = $87.50


Motor Carrier Affidavit

If you have a suspended license due to an unpaid motor carrier ticket, you will need to provide the following proofs of compliance by fax, by mail or by the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page:

  • Compliance (must include the ticket number)
  • Paid Receipt

Fee
Motor Carrier = $50.00


Nonpayment of Child Support

If you have a suspended license due to failing to pay child support, you will need to provide one of the following proofs of compliance by fax, by mail or by the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page:

  • Compliance (must include the LASES number)
  • Release Certificate from Department of Social Services (DSS)
  • Partial Compliance Release from DSS

Fee
$60.00


Nonpayment of Income Tax

If you have a suspended license due to failing to pay state income taxes, you will need to provide compliance by fax, by mail or by the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page:

  • Compliance
  • Certified Compliance Release from the Louisiana Department of Revenue

Fee
$60.00


Submit

An arrest is classified as a Submit when a law enforcement officer places a person under arrest for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated and the person submits to an approved chemical test for intoxication and such test results show a blood alcohol content over the legal limits.

Violation Description BAC Suspension
Period
Length of Interlock
(if required)
1st Submit (21 and older)/1st Submit
(Out-of-State Driver’s License)
.08 - .19 90 days 180 days
1st Submit (any age) /1st Submit
(Out-of-State Driver’s License)
.20 or above 730 days 730 days
Submit Underage (under 21) .02 - .19 180 days 180 days
2nd Submit (21 and older)/2nd Submit
(Out-of-State Driver’s License)
.08 - .19 365 days 365 days
2nd Submit (any age)/2nd Submit
(Out-of-State Driver’s License)
.20 or above 1460 days 1460 days
3rd + Submit (21 and older)/3rd + Submit
(Out-of-State Driver’s License)
.08 or above 365 days 365 days

Compliance

  • Serve Mandatory Suspension and/or Disqualification Period
  • Pay Fee
  • Ignition Interlock Installment/Agreement (if required as a condition of reinstatement)

Fee
$50.00

When Ignition Interlock is Required as a Condition of Reinstatement

Certification of arrest paperwork indicates that a driver has submitted with an alcohol content of .08 or above, and the certification of arrest paperwork and the driving history indicates one of the following:

  • At the time of arrest there was a crash with moderate or serious bodily injury;
  • At the time of arrest there was a child in the vehicle age 12 or younger;
  • There is a prior alcohol violation on the record within five years (effective 8/1/14 ten years) of the current violation.

Then the record will reflect that an ignition interlock device will be required upon expiration of the suspension and reinstatement of the driving privileges or upon issuance of a restricted hardship license.

NOTE:
Due to a Supreme Court ruling dated October 16, 2012, any Submit arrest date prior to June 18, 2013, with a prior alcohol violation on the record as defined above, within five years, will not require an interlock as a condition of reinstatement if the Submit did not result in a DWI conviction.

R.S. 32:667 was amended effective June 18, 2013 to state that any Submit arrest dated June 18, 2013 and after, with a prior alcohol violation on the record as defined above, within five years, will require an interlock as a condition of reinstatement regardless of the disposition of the DWI.


Refusal

An arrest is classified as a Refusal when a law enforcement officer places a person under arrest for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated and the person refuses to submit to an approved chemical test for intoxication.

Violation Description Suspension
Period
Length of Interlock
(if required)
1st Refusal (any age)/1st Refusal/Out-of-State Driver’s License prior to 09/01/09 180 days 180 days
2nd Refusal (any age)/2nd Refusal/ Out-of-State Driver’s License prior to 09/01/09 545 days 545 days
3rd + Refusal (any age)/3rd + Refusal/Out of State Driver License prior to 09/01/09 545 days 545 days
1st Refusal (any age)/1st Refusal/ Out-of-State Driver’s License on or after 09/01/09 365 days 365 days
2nd Refusal (any age)/2nd Refusal/ Out-of-State Driver’s License on or after 09/01/09 730 days 730 days
3rd + Refusal (any age)/3rd + Refusal/ Out-of-State Driver’s License on or after 09/01/09 730 days 730 days
1st Refusal Fatality/Serious Injury (any age) prior to 09/01/09 545 days 545 days
1st Refusal Fatality/Serious Injury (any age) on or after 09/01/09 365 days 365 days
2nd Refusal Fatality/Serious Injury (any age) on or after 09/01/09 730 days 730 days

Compliance

  • Serve Mandatory Suspension and/or Disqualification Period
  • File Proof of Financial Responsibility (SR-22 insurance) for 3 years from the date of arrest
  • Pay Fee
  • Ignition Interlock Installment/Agreement (if required as a condition of reinstatement)

Fee
$50.00

When Ignition Interlock is Required as a Condition of Reinstatement

Certification of arrest paperwork indicates that a driver has refused to take the chemical test for intoxication, and the certification of arrest paperwork and the driving history indicates one of the following:

  • At the time of arrest there was a crash with moderate or serious bodily injury;
  • At the time of arrest there was a child in the vehicle age 12 or younger;
  • There is a prior alcohol violation on the record with the current violation.

then the record will to reflect that an ignition interlock device will be required upon expiration of the suspension and reinstatement of the driving privileges or upon issuance of a restricted hardship license.

NOTE:
Due to a Supreme Court ruling dated October 16, 2012, any Refusal arrest date prior to June 18, 2013, with a prior alcohol violation on the record as defined above, will not require an interlock as a condition of reinstatement if the Refusal did not result in a DWI conviction.

R.S. 32:667 was amended effective June 18, 2013 to state that any Refusal arrest dated June 18, 2013 and after, with a prior alcohol violation on the record as defined above, will require an interlock as a condition of reinstatement regardless of the disposition of the DWI.


DWI / UDUI

The Department shall suspend the driving privileges of any person upon receiving satisfactory evidence of conviction for a charge of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Underage Driving Under the Influence(UDUI) as required under the laws of this state.

Violation Description Suspension Period (Conviction Date on or before 8/14/2007) Suspension Period (Conviction Date on or after 8/15/2007)
DWI 1st 90 days ( 3 mths ) 365 days ( 1 yr )
DWI 1st with BAC .20+ 730 days ( 2 yrs ) 730 days ( 2 yrs )
DWI 2nd 365 days ( 1 yr ) 730 days ( 2 yrs )
DWI 2nd with BAC .20+ 1,460 days ( 4 yrs ) 1,460 days ( 4 yrs )
DWI 3rd + 730 days ( 2 yrs ) 1095 days ( 3 yrs )
UDUI 180 days ( 6 mths ) 365 days ( 1 yr )

Compliance

  • Serve Mandatory Suspension and/or Disqualification Period
  • File Proof of Financial Responsibility (SR-22 insurance) for 3 years from the date of conviction
  • Pay Fee

Fee
DWI 1st: $100
DWI 2nd: $200
DWI 3rd+: $300
UDUI: $60


Driving While Suspended

If you have a suspended license for driving while under suspension, you will be required to serve a one year suspension time. When your suspension time is expired your fee may be paid over the phone with a debit or credit card or by mail with a money order, certified funds, or cashier’s check.

Fee
$60.00

REINSTATEMENTS

Checking License Status
If a customer has flags on their record, they must clear those flags before obtaining any OMV services. Check your driver license status online:

Reinstatement services are not available at OMV field offices.

Reinstatements will ONLY be provided via the Contact Us link at the bottom of this page, by phone, by mail or by a Public Tag Agency utilizing one of the following options:

  1. OMV Call Center: 225-925-6146 – Option No. 3
  2. OMV Mail Center: P.O. Box 64886 Baton Rouge, La. 70896
  3. Public Tag Agency (PTA): Contact your local PTA to ensure they provide the reinstatement service you need.

Fee Payments:

  • By phone: debit or credit card accepted
  • By mail: money order, certified funds, or cashier’s check
  • Public Tag Agencies: Contact your local agency

RELATED INFORMATION